The history of Château Beaulieu

1864

Emile Maufras becomes the owner

45025.jpg

At the end of the 19th century, Château Beaulieu became the property of Emile Maufras. A laureate of the Bordeaux Academy and member of the society of historical archives of Aunis and Saintonge and of the society of historical archives of the Gironde, Émile Maufras is a local scholar. He wrote there in 1904 a history of Bourg sur Gironde where he discovered in the vineyard a polished stone ax and powdered arrows dating from the Neolithic era.

18th century

Construction of the Castle by Pierre Robert, the notary of Samonac

DSC_2066_edited_edited.jpg

The Charterhouse is composed of a two floors central pavilion  framed by two wings. The ensemble is built on a originally sloping ground, forming a terrace with a high retaining wall.

1926

Creation of the name "Côtes de bourg"

logo.png

Creation of the appellation "Côtes de bourg" by the Civil Court of Blaye on January 6, 1926. To be eligible for this appellation, the harvesters must belong to the canton of Bourg and their wine must come from clay-limestone or gravelly hillsides planted with noble grape varieties.

1868

Nomination for thecru Bourgeoisof Bourg award

md30085313375.jpg

The wines of Château Beaulieu have always enjoyed a good reputation which led to the property being cited as a "cru bourgeois" in 1868 by Edouard Feret, in the 2nd Edition of “Bordeaux and its wines”.

1991

Extension of the Chai

3020fe8b-0c3a-4125-9f39-17e95063ece9.jpe

Large-scale renovation of the Cellar, this work truly marks the start of a new era for the property, in addition to offering a more spacious and more efficient winemaking tool this new cellar is part of a reflection on the development of the property, both on a technical and oenotouristic aspect.

1936

Approval of the Côtes de Bourg appellation by the INAO for red wines

LOGOTYPE_INAO_-2014FORMAT-WEB (1).jpg

Defined initially by a judgment of the civil court of Blaye in 1926, the appellation “Bourg”, “Côtes de Bourg” or “Region of Bourgeais” is reserved for all the red wines of the canton. The decree of September 11, 1936 established the controlled label of origin.

2020

Certification in High Environmental Value Level 3

hve_coul_1 (1).png

The “High Environmental Value” certificate is based on performance indicators relating to biodiversity, phytosanitary strategy, fertilization and irrigation management.

2019

Transitioning from Conventional to Organic Winegrowing

label_certification_bio.png

Genuinely concerned with the concerned with the environment and sustainable development, the owners decided to start the conversion of the vineyard to organic farming. Spread over a period of 3 years, this demanding process is nevertheless essential to offer wines that meet the expectations of consumers.

L'histoire du Château Beaulieu

· 1864 ·

Emile Maufras en devient le propriétaire

A la fin du 19ème siècle, le château Beaulieu devient la propriété d’Emile Maufras. Lauréat de l’académie de Bordeaux et membre de la société des archives historiques d’Aunis et de Saintonge et de la société des archives historiques de la Gironde, Émile Maufras est un érudit local. Il y écrivit en 1904 une histoire de Bourg sur Gironde où il découvrit dans le vignoble une hâche en pierre polie et de la poudre de flèches datant du Néolithique.

· 18e siècle ·

Construction du Château par Pierre Robert, le notaire de Samonac

La chartreuse est composée d’un pavillon central à deux niveaux, encadré par deux ailes dans le prolongement et n’a qu’un seul niveau d’élévation avec un demi-étage carré. Des bâtiments de communs forment une cour. L’ensemble est construit sur un terrain originellement en pente, formant une terrasse avec un haut mur de soutènement, qui rattrape la déclivité.

· 1926 ·

Création de l'appellation
« côtes de bourg »

Création de l’’appellation « côtes de bourg » par le Tribunal civil de Blaye le 6 janvier 1926. Pour avoir cette appellation, les récoltants doivent appartenir au canton de Bourg et leur vin doit provenir des coteaux argilocalcaires ou graveleux plantés en cépages nobles.

· 1868 ·

Nomination au « cru Bourgeois » de Bourg

Les vins du Château Beaulieu ont toujours joui d’une bonne réputation qui valut notamment à la propriété d’être citée comme « cru bourgeois » de bourg dès 1868 par Edouard Feret, dans la 2eme Edition de « Bordeaux et ses vins ».

· 1991 ·

Agrandissement des Cuviers

Rénovation de grande envergure du Chais, ces travaux marquent véritablement une nouvelle ère pour la propriété car, au-delà d’offrir un outil de vinification plus spacieux et plus performant, ils s’inscrivent également dans une réflexion de développement de la propriété, aussi bien sur le plan technique qu’oenotouristique.

· 1936 ·

Homologation de l’appellation côtes de bourg par l’INAO pour les vins rouges

Définie initialement par un jugement du tribunal civil de Blaye en 1926, l’appellation « Bourg », « Côtes de Bourg » ou « Région du Bourgeais » est réservée à tous les vins rouges du canton. Le décret du 11 septembre 1936 consacre l’appellation d’origine contrôlée. 

· 2020 ·

Certification en Haute Valeur Environnemental Niveau 3

Le certificat de « Haute Valeur Environnementale » est fondé sur des indicateurs de résultats relatifs à la biodiversité, la stratégie phytosanitaire, la gestion de la fertilisation et de l’irrigation.

· 2019 ·

Transition en vignoble biologique

Soucieux de respecter la vigne, l'environnement et les hommes, les propriétaires décident d'entamer la conversion du vignoble en agriculture biologique. S'étalant sur une durée de 3 ans, ce processus exigeant est néanmoins indispensable pour offrir des vins à la hauteur des attentes des consommateurs.

Un lieu d'exception

Le savoir-faire

L'art de vivre

Mention Légales

RECEVEZ NOTRE NEWSLETTER

Découvrir en exclusivité l'actualité du Chateau Beaulieu

  • facebook
  • Twitter
  • instagram